Author Archives: plattesd2012

Cinder

http://animoto.com/play/F9TTPFzdGISga5S1Gz1xyw

Check out this book trailer by the Platte Public Librarian Miranda Brumbaugh.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer, a book based on a fairy tale–Cinderella–with a sci-fi twist. Think dystopian in the vein of The Hunger Games and Divergent.

Advertisements
Categories: authors, Book review, book titles | Tags: , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Public Libraries and the Ebook War: The Big Six Finally Caved

E-Books and DemocracyFinally!

Public libraries will now have access to books published by the Big Six publishers: Penguin Group, Simon & Schuster, Hachette, Macmillan, Random House and HarperCollins.

What does this mean for you? If you are a library patron who has a eBook lending card for South Dakota Titles to Go, then you may finally be able to read your favorite authors on your eReader device.

“Negotiations between the nation’s libraries and the Big Six publishers… which publish roughly two-thirds of the books in America — have gone in fits and starts. Today Hachette, which had been a holdout, is joining the others in announcing that it will make e-books available to public libraries.”
Here is the rest of the story:

“E-Books and Democracy” The New York Times

Categories: authors, book titles, ereader news, Reading | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Celebrating April with Patriotism

monthofthemilitarychildiconApril is the Month of the Military Child.

bfs-header

At the Platte Public Library we are teamed up with Operation Books for Soldiers, an online forum that connects book donors with deployed soldiers, airmen, sailors, Marines, or Coast Guardsmen who have an APO or FPO address.

Anyone including you can sign up to donate items that you will ship directly to particular soldiers active in the U.S. military. Deployed soldiers post lists of reading material including nonfiction and fiction books, as well as magazines, that they would love to receive. You fulfill their requests that help our soldiers breathe a little easier while on tours of duty to places like Afghanistan and Germany.

Additionally, you can request for soldiers who are looking for pen pals. This is a great way to encourage your children to pick up a pen while offering much needed social support to soldiers who are often in very dangerous and isolating circumstances.

As part of this program, here at the library we have packed 12 large USPS Priority Mail Flat Rate boxes with a total of more than 200 books. In each box we’ve tucked a few stuffed animals to use as filler and for the soldiers to give to children they meet while stationed abroad. Here at the library we had plenty of extra books to send out, but we’ve asked for donations to cover the shipping costs. So far we have enough money to cover shipping for 10 boxes! We expect to get enough money to ship the entire dozen by the end of the month. Each box costs $14.85 to ship via the USPS.

We have a donation box at the front desk of the Platte Public Library, if you would like to donate. If you have any questions, please contact the librarians at 605-337-9869 for more information.

Categories: Community Events, library, Reading, storytime | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

April Story Time: Patriotism and American Heroes

 

To tie in children with this month’s project, Operation Books for Soldiers for the Month of the Military child, our April Storytime theme will be Patriotism and American Heroes. Join us April 26 at 10:30 for stories and activities. We will be making our own crayons using recycled library crayons, which we’ll then use to create greeting cards to send to troops in Afghanistan. It will be an exciting morning!

For story time we will be reading:

 

9781596982925

 

america's white table

America_A_patriotic_Primer

asdfasdsf

9780736847018_p0_v1_s260x420

 

Categories: Community Events, library, storytime | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Come Visit the Platte Library Readers’ Lounge and Kids’ Corner

ImageIn case you’ve been hiding under a pile of snow, which is all too possible, you are aware of what is going on at the Platte Public Library. We have made major changes to the library.

Now when you want to come in and put your feet up with a good book or magazine, you can do it in our Readers’ Lounge. A comfy set up featuring three couches and a coffee table is located in the Community Room in the back of the library. There is also a computer with Internet access located in the lounge.

We also have a Kids’ Corner suited with bean bags and a colorful rug. While you sit and browse a magazine, your kids can grab a book from the children’s section and read in their own space.

Bring your own book or borrow one of ours. The Readers’ Lounge and Kids’ Corner is also available for meetings and social activities. Got a club meeting coming up or need somewhere to meet for your bible study group? Contact the Platte Librarians to use our space!

The Readers’ Lounge and Kids’ Corner will be open during regular library hours, which are Monday to Friday 12:30 to 5:30. For use of the space when the library is closed, please make arrangements with the librarians.

Categories: library, Reading | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Tim O’Brien Tells a War Story (And Explains Why He Writes)

Categories: authors, Reading | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Pick the cover of ‘Eat, Pray, Love’ author Elizabeth Gilbert’s new novel

Help Gilbert choose the cover of her next novel! Be a part of something huge; check out this blog post.

Categories: Reading | Leave a comment

The Good House, by Ann Leary

Would you like to see this book at your Platte Public Library? Leave a comment below!

Blogging for a Good Book

houseOf all the villains in modern literature, Daisy Buchanan has always been one I love to hate. As F. Scott Fitzgerald describes her, she’s so insulated from the world and from the consequences of her actions that she has no sense of right and wrong, and there’s no one willing to hold her to account. And that’s when she was surrounded by her social peers. Imagine if she lived in an ordinary place with ordinary people.

Hildy Good is (or was) the top-selling real estate broker in her seaside town. The town has been discovered by Boston’s wealthy, land and house prices have skyrocketed, and the quirky old-time residents are trying to hang on in the face of the invasion. The McAllisters, one of the newcomer families, have profited enormously by Brian’s management of a hedge fund (and other money-making silent partnerships), but they’re regular folks and Hildy is…

View original post 496 more words

Categories: authors, book titles, Reading | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Grave Mercy

This looks interesting! Anyone read this or would like to see at Platte Public Library?

Categories: authors, book titles, Reading | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Top Ten Favorite Romances

Categories: book titles, Reading | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Order of Darkness: Changeling by Philippa Gregory Book Review

Categories: authors, book titles, Reading | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Top Ten Dystopian Characters

Categories: authors, book titles, Reading | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Prisoner B-3087 by Alan Gratz Book Review

Categories: authors, book titles, Reading | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Best Library Quote Ever

Wilson K.

Libraries

Will libraries survive the next generation? Only time will tell.

View original post

Categories: library, Reading | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: